Technology Industy Awards
Application process will begin March 1, 2012 

Quick Links for Award Webpages: 
Overview  |  Judges |  Sponsors  | History | Award Criteria


Individual Awards:

CEO of the Year

Adam Miller, Cornerstone OnDemand (2009)
Jim McCluney, Emulex Corporation (2008)
George Klaus, 
Epicor Software Corporation (2007)

Mitch Lasky, JAMDAT Mobile (2006) (Acquired by EA Mobile)
George Kurtz, Foundstone Corporation
(2005), (Acquired by McAfee)

George Klaus, Epicor Software Corporation (2004)
Aubrey Chernick, Candle Corporation (2003), (Acquired by IBM)

Frank Perna, MSC.Software Corporation (2002)

Michael Bell, Encore Software (2000), (Acquired by Navarre Corporation)
Lee Roberts, FileNET Corp (2000)

Ed Gavaldon, Peerless Systems (1999)

David Hanna, Sage Software, Inc. (1998), (Formerly State of the Art/Best Software)

Robert Kotick, Activision (1997)

Bob Davidson, Davidson & Associates (1996), (Acquired by Knowledge Adventure)
Dennis Morin,
Wonderware (1995)
Ted Smith,
FileNet (1994)

Entrepreneur of the Year

Scott Painter, Zag and TrueCar, Inc. (2009)
Tim Vanderhook, Specific Media (2008)
Kerry Shih,
SyncVoice Communications (2007)
Matt Coffin, (2006)
Chris Capdevila,
Logical Apps (2005)
Gene Wang, 
Bitfone Corporation (2004)
George Kurtz, 
Foundstone Inc. (2003)
Sanjeev Kuwadekar, 
Hey Anita Inc. (2002)
Marina Kotsianas, Agribuys (2000), (Merged with Foodconnex Worldwide)
Jim Jonassen, PeopleMover (1999), (Merged with
Adexa, Inc. (1998), (Formerly Paragon Management Systems)
CitySearch (1997)
CyberMedia (1996), (Acquired by Network Associates - now known as
Syncronys Softcorp (1995)

Lifetime Achievement Award

George Klaus, Epicor Software Corporation (2008)
Lee Roberts, FileNet Corporation (2005)
David Hanna, Venture Capitalist and high-tech visionary (2004)

Technology Council Volunteer Service Award

Steve Stallman, President of Stallman Marketing (2008)
Rick Sharga, President of CJ Patrick Company (2006)
Richard Hansen, Partner of Hansen Seto LLP (2005)
Richard Koffler, CEO of Koffler Ventures (2004)


Entertainment & Gaming Company of the Year

Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. (2009)
K2 Networks 
Activision (2002)
LeadingWay Corp (2000)
Blizzard Entertainment & Knowledge Adventure (1999)
THQ (1998)
Digital Domain (1997)
Disney Interactive (1996)

Hardware and Storage Company of the Year

D-Link Systems, Inc. (2009)
QLogic (2008)
ViewSonic Corporation (2007)

Internet and New Media Company of the Year

Hydra LLC (2009)
HireRight, Inc. (2008) (2007) (2006)
Starbase Corp. (2000), (Acquired by
Borland) (1999) (1998)
GeoCities (1997), (Acquired by Yahoo)
Earthlink (1996)

Mobile Company of the Year

Networks In Motion, Inc. (2008)
Broadcom Corporation (2007)

Network and Security Company of the Year

8e6 Technologies (2008)
Occam Networks (2007)

Product of the Year

Alelo Inc. (2008)

Software Company of the Year

SYSPRO (2009)
Citrix Online
WebVisible (2007) (emerging software company)

Epicor Software Corporation (2006)
Epicor Software Corporation
SYSPRO (2004)
FileNet Corporation (2003)

Emerging Software Company of the Year

Corent Technology, Inc.  (2009)

Software Developer of the Year

Accruent, Inc. (2006)
Integrien Corporation (2005)
Intelligent Systems Technology, Inc. (2004)
Telelogic North America, Inc (2003), (Acquired by IBM)

Sage Software, Inc. (2002), (formerly Best Software)
Intelligent Systems Technology, Inc. (2000) (1999) (Acquired by ADP, Inc.)
Advanced Recognition Technologies (1998)
FrontRange Solutions (1997), (Formerly GoldMine Software)

Gryphon Software (1996), (Acquired by
Knowledge Adventure)
Interplay (1995)
Davidson & Associates (1994), (Acquired by Knowledge Adventure)

Software as a Service Company of the Year

Make It Work, Inc. (2006)
Expertcity, Inc. (2004), (Acquired by Citrix Online)

Award Finalist

Finalist - CEO of the Year

2009 Ken McBride, and Jeffrey Tinsley, MyLife
2007 Brett Caine,
Citrix Online and Lee Perlman, New Age Electronics, Inc.
2006 Lee Roberts, FileNet Corp. and Richard Rosenblatt, Intermix Media
2005 Ken Kalb,
Continuous Computing and Ron Verni, Sage Software, Inc.
2004 James Demetriades,
SeeBeyond Technology Corporation and Nicolaas Vlok, Vision Solutions
2003 Ann Price, Motek, Inc. and Walter Straub, Rainbow Technologies

Finalist - Entrepreneur of the Year

2009 Peter Kim, Interpolls and Therese Tucker, BlackLine Systems
2008 Sean Downs,
Enclarity, Inc. and Eric David Greenspan, Make It Work, Inc.
2007 Eric David Greenspan, Make It Work, Inc. and Russ Mann, SEMDirector
2006 Tim Braheem, LoanToolBox and Adam Miller,
Cornerstone OnDemand
2005 Adam Miller, CyberU Inc.
and Russell P. Reeder, Rightsline, Inc.
2004 Peter Shaw Akonix Systems, Inc. and Russell P. Reeder RightsLine, Inc
2003 Charles Ames, Oak Grove Systems and Mark Friedman, Accruent, Inc.

Finalist - Hardware and Storage Company of the Year

2009 Emulex Corporation and Mindspeed Technologies, Inc.
2008 DataDirect Networks, Inc. and SiliconSystems, Inc.

Dot Hill Systems and QLogic

Finalist - Entertainment and Gaming Company of the Year

2009 Future Ads and RotoHog
2008 Spark Unlimited, Inc.

Finalist - Internet and New Media Company of the Year

2009 People Media and WebVisible, Inc.
2008 RealtyTrac, Inc.
and YLighting LLC
LoanToolbox and Lowermybills

Finalist - Mobile Company of the Year

2008 Axiom Microdevices, Inc. and mobileStorm
2007 Amp’d Mobile Inc. and Networks In Motion, Inc.

Finalist - Network and Security Company of the Year

2008 High Tower Software and Integrien Corporation
2007 8e6 Technologies and SOA Software

Finalist - Product of the Year

2008 Covario and YouMail, Inc.

Finalist - Software Company of the Year

2009 Epicor Software Corporation and Guidance Software, Inc.
CrownPeak and SYSPRO
2007 SYSPRO and Telelogic
2007 Cornerstone On-Demand, Inc. and Portellus, Inc. (Emerging Software Companies)
Quest Software and Telelogic North America, Inc.
QAD Inc.
2004 Envision Financial Systems, Inc. & Telelogic
2003 Sage Software, Inc. and Vision Solutions, Inc.

Finalist - Emerging Software Company of the Year

2009 Apriso Corporation and LiveOffice 

Finalist - Software Developer of the Year

2006 Incuity Software Inc. and CrownPeak
2005 Acermed and Citrix Online
2004 Applied Wave Research, Inc. & Bitfone Corporation
2003 Akonix Systems, Inc. and WolfeTech Develoment Corporation

Finalist - Software as a Services Company of the Year

2006 Tryarc LLC
and WebSideStory
2004 ProcessClaims and SiteLite

Keynote Speakers

Christopher Thornberg, Principal, Beacon Economics (2009)
Tony Perkins, Founder & Editor In Chief, AlwaysOn 
Brett Caine, Citrix Online Group; George Klaus, Epicor Software; Lee Perlman, New Age Electronics (2007)
Bill Reichert, Managing Director of (2006)
William Weyand, CEO,
MSC.Software (2005)
Mark R. Goldston, Chairman & CEO, United Online (Formerly (2004)
Keith Ferrazzi, CEO of YaYa LLC (2003)
Larry Magid, Syndicated Columnist and CBS News Technology Consultant (2002)
Hassan Miah, CEO, SLO Media, Inc. (2000)

Hubert Joly, CEO, Havas Interactive, Inc. (Acquired by Vivendi Universal) (1999)

Dr. Jon Goodman, EC2, The Annenberg Incubator Project (1998)

Joel Kotkin, Economist/Author (1997)

Glen Entis, CEO, Dreamworks Interactive (Acquired by Electronic Arts) (1996)

Philippe Kahn, CEO, Borland (1995)
Gordon Eubanks, CEO,
Symantec (1994)

2009 Sponsored corporate tables:

Apriso Corporation 


BlackLine Systems

Hydra, LLC

SoftServe, Inc.

Corent Technology, Inc.


Cornerstone OnDemand Inc.



CRESA Partners

People Media   

Tech Coast Equity Group

Dorsey & Whitney LLP


WebVisible, Inc.

Epicor Software Corporation

Silicon Valley Bank    

Zag & TrueCar 

 See photos from our previous award programs

The best companies, the brightest people, and the most fun! 


2009 Industry Award Sponsors

Premier Sponsors





Supporting Sponsors

Media Sponsors


Affliate Sponsors

2011 Copyright by Technology Council of Southern California. All rights reserved.